Body Image and Self-Confidence


Hello Blends! (Blog Friends, thanks FitBlog!)

Since the last #fitblog chat, I have seen a lot of posts on body image and self-confidence, and it’s had my brain working on how I really feel about myself. My last post talked about soul searching, and I think that my career, my school, and my self-confidence are all tied into how I view my body.

The last few months I have been very hard on myself.  While training for my first half-marathon I have hit nothing but roadblocks.  First I had a problem with Runner’s Knee, and after that was better, I had a problem with my ankles.  These 2 things kept me from progressing in my training as I would have liked, leaving me 4 weeks from race day, and not being able to run more that 6-7k at a time.  Over the winter I was filled with guilt and self-doubt,  and because of that, I pushed myself too hard, causing my injuries.

I have been wrestling with a question for weeks: Should I switch my race registration from the 1/2 marathon to the 5k?  Every time I thought about it, I felt angry and disappointed in myself.  I was comparing myself to other people, thinking that “if she/he can do it, why can’t I?”  Last week I had a long talk with my husband about everything, and he told me that I have to give myself a break.  The people that I’m comparing myself to have been running for a lot longer that I have, and they started out almost exactly where I was. (My hubby is pretty awesome, I have to say.)  I sent an email to the race coordinator, and asked her to switch my registration to the 5k race.  As soon as I hit send I felt lighter, happier, and more confident in myself.

Instead of thinking “I can’t run 13 miles! No Way!!” now I’m thinking “Heck yes I can run 5k! No Problem!!” My goal for this race is under 40 minutes, which I KNOW I can do.

I had another “aha!” moment last week after writing about my desire to go back to school.  I have a history of hemming and hawing over my decisions, but after another chat with hubby (seriously, he’s great.) I decided I needed to take action.  If you follow me on twitter you will have seen this tweet last week:

I have always been interested in nutrition, diet, and science, and I thought that a degree in Nutrition would be an amazing start to my career!  Thanks to a great email from Kath on her experiences becoming an RD, and talking to friends who decided to go back to school last year or this year, I took the plunge!

My mood has done a complete 180 from last weekend to this one.  I feel like I’ve lost a 100 pound weight from around my shoulders!  I am happy, I am looking forward to the future, and I am treating my body 100% better than I have over the last few months.  Doing these things to help myself makes me want to do more and more, and so I am eating better, stretching, signing up for yoga (hopefully!), and exercising because I want to, not because I feel I have to.  I’m a whole new woman!

So I would like to say thank you to everyone who supported me in the last few weeks:  My husband Adam for being so wonderful and patient, my very good friends Sarah and Lori for cheering me on when I was making my decisions, and my family for their congratulations.  I couldn’t have done it without any of you!

One Comment to “Body Image and Self-Confidence”

  1. Sounds like you have made some excellent progress on making some good choices for yourself. I look forward to seeing how school goes for you.

Leave a Reply

