What keeps you going when you’re running?


I read an article at FitSugar today which made me think about what keeps me going when I’m running.  The author talks about going for a run without her customary IPod, and the results she got.

When I got to the gym last night, I realized that I had forgotten my earbuds.  Panic washed over me to a ridiculous degree.  My internal dialogue was going something like this:

“Oh crap! I don’t have my headphones, what will I do? How will I run? I wonder if that lady who’s leaving will sell me her earbuds?”

That’s right.  I was so dependant on my music to run with, that I actually (very briefly) considered asking a lady in the changeroom if she would sell me hers.

So I slapped some sense into myself, and decided that I would go out there and run, no matter what!  I got onto the tread (dread?) mill, and lo and behold, ran my first-ever sub-15 minute mile, with no Estelle, Jay-Z, Queen, or songs from the “Glee” cast pushing me along.  Now that may not be a huge achievement to some of you, but to a girl who’s motto was “I don’t run for anything or anywhere. Ever.” this time last year, I am pretty proud of myself.  I feel strong, fit, and ready to take on the next goal – Run for 5 minutes without stopping for a walk break!

Running my best time ever without my usual motivation has got me thinking. What keeps you going when you’re running?  What do you think about running with music vs running without it?  Share your opinions, I’d love to hear them!

2 Comments to “What keeps you going when you’re running?”

  1. I’m so embaressed… I actually got to the parking lot of the gym, realized I didn’t have my earbuds, and made the ten-minute drive home back to get them.

    I don’t think I’d do that again because I cursed myself the entire time… but it’s rough going through an entire workout without!

    • That thought crossed my mind, but my hubby dropped me off! I was thinking about calling him and asking him to bring me a pair though… You should try it without music next time, you might be surprised at your results like I was!

Leave a Reply

