Meal Planning


The one thing that helps us save money and eat better is meal planning.

Usually we plan 2 weeks worth of meals at a time, and then do the shopping for those 2 weeks.  I plan meals that will give us leftovers for Sundays and Mondays, so that we can take the leftovers for lunches, and easier meals for the rest of the week.  Saturdays are saved for things that take a lot of work like lasagna or shepherd’s pie. This works really well for us and it saves us money (and arguments) at the grocery store, because he’s a list shopper, and I’m more of a browser.  It also keeps us from spontaneously eating out, because we already have the food planned and prepared.  One thing I have noticed though, is that if I don’t write a vegetable on the menu, my husband won’t make one to go with the meal if he’s doing the cooking.

One thing that I have resolved for 2010 is to incorporate a new recipe into each 2-week menu.  We have at least a dozen cookbooks in our kitchen, and I want to use them to discover great new foods, and ways to prepare them!  I would love to start moving away from so much beef and chicken, and incorporate more fish, beans, and grains into our repertoire.

So what do you think about menu planning?  does it work for you?  Let me know your favourite stand-by recipes!

Leave a Reply

