my love affair with Coke part 1


My love affair with Coke is long.  From the time I was 13 or 14, there was always pop in our house.  Dad always had a can to take with his lunch, and my little brother and I would drink one after school.  Not every day, but enough that we knew we loved Coke.  I have always preferred Coke to Pepsi, enjoying that little bit of extra sweetness with my cola.  Flash forward a few years to the 12th grade, when I was (un)lucky enough to have home room directly connected to the cafeteria, where there was always fresh cookies and cokes to buy.  This led to a one-a-day habit that lasted the whole year.

In college, I soon found out that the easiest thing to pick me up from that 3pm slump, or keep me going when I was up late studying, was a Coke!  I had to keep them in my room so no one would take them, so they were always right where I could see them, calling out to me.

I kicked the habit when I started working full time with no easy access to a vending machine, and stayed off if for a while, but lately I’ve noticed it creeping back in in a very sneaky way…

Are you a Coke or a Pepsi person? Would you rather drink coffee or tea? Or are you one of the lucky souls who doesn’t depend on any caffeine to get you through the day?

Stay tuned for the ongoing tale of the Coke-monster!

Tags: , ,

One Comment to “my love affair with Coke part 1”

  1. We had Pepsi in the house when I was younger. When I moved out of the house, I discovered I liked Coke better. Now I try to limit myself. And I actually prefer tea more. Love me some iced tea!

Leave a Reply

